Community service is integral to our culture at Carey. From the very beginning of their schooling journeys, all students are involved in giving back and learning about issues of social justice, human rights and the responsibility to make positive change in any way we can.

The Carey Medal represents this important commitment. It is presented to a member of the Carey community (past and present students, staff and parents) in recognition of exceptional and outstanding service to the wider community either within the state, nationwide or internationally.

The Award can recognise selfless achievements, of a high profile or not, made in a short time or carried out over longer periods of time. The recipient can be starting out in their community service journey, or have years of service experiences.

Past Carey Medal Recipients

Carey Medal Nominations

To nominate someone for the Carey Medal, download the Carey Medal Nomination Form and email your completed form to

Applications close at 5.00pm on 31 May each year.

For more information about nominations and eligibility, please visit the Carey Medal Nominations page.